A Lil’ Ray of Sunshine Under the Blankie – Or, Norrie Gets an Award and Finally Responds

Before we jump into the Q&A sesh, let me just say, Morgana wasn’t the first one to put my name on the list of lil’ sunshines, but I’ve never actually gotten around to answer those questions. Bad, really bad…

So, how does this work?
Thank the blogger who nominated you in a blog post and link back to their blog.
Answer the 11 questions the blogger asked you.
Nominate 11 new blogs to receive the award and ask them 11 new questions – I sort of half assed this?
List the rules and display the sunshine blogger award logo in your post/or on your blog – Well, here we go. 

Ready?

#1 Where do you see yourself 10 years from now?

In my little cottage with the white fence and lavenders, sipping my coffee and not stressing about having to go to the office. By then I’m sure I will have came up with the ultimate solution for working from home permanently in my pjs.

#2 Complete the sentence: Never have I ever…..

That’s a drinking game, no?
Well, let’s see then…
Never have I ever told a friend that unfortunately they can’t borrow a specific book because another friend already borrowed it.

*Norrie takes a smug sip of her gin&tonic*

#3 What does the perfect weekend look like for you?

It would start with a nice Friday night at home, and continues with not having to go anywhere in particular. Going out for brekkie with my besties doesn’t count as that’s something I enjoy a lot. When the weather is nice I’m actually more inclined to leave the house, but the thought of sweating on the tube to go to central London and get trampled there fills me with dread. I’m quite a happy camper though in my little corner of the city and rarely leave it.
Of course that would be some serious reading done as well, bucketfuls of coffee and some binging on my favourite TV shows. What those are depends on when you ask. Right now it’s Aquarius and Big Bang Theory for the third time over.
A friendly gathering at mine would also be something I’d enjoy occasionally on a weekend. Even better when it’s BBQ!

#4 Do you believe in Zodiac signs? If so, why? If not, why?

Umm… Nope.
There was even an experiment where they shoved a bunch of people in a room, asked about their birth date and gave them some super complicated looking personalized zodiac analysis. They all agreed that it fit them pretty well. Then they asked them to swap and read what the person next to them got. It was the same.

Need I say more?

I had a friend who was super into it, and I was fascinated by it when I was 16, but it was more a scientific curiosity even then.

#5 What turns you on / off? Why?

I like it when he does that move where he… Oh wait, wrong blog?!?!?!
Intelligence and stimulating conversations do tend to turn me on. Also humour. No sourpusses, please.

Like Leonard ❤

Stupidity, ignorance and inconsiderate behaviour on the other hand is a serious no-no and a major turn off.

#6 If you could travel by the speed of lightning.. Which place would you visit first?

I’m not sure I would… Even though the speed of lightning is only 1/3 of the speed of light, it’s still super freakin’ fast and I’d be worried about splattering, shrinking and all sort of nasty stuff. But if they worked out all those details and I could actually get somewhere in one piece, I’d most likely pop over to the Caribbean a bit. Would save a lot on plane tickets I’d imagine…

#7 Which do you prefer: A bustling city that never sleeps or a quiet small town in the middle of nowhere? Why?

Having lived in both, I’d settle for a small town close to a bustling city.
I grew up in a small town, and it was great. We had a river two minutes walk away from our house and it was almost like a proper beach. But when it comes to entertainment, there weren’t many options. We had a couple of pubs, a few restaurants, the occasional bikers meeting with rock concerts (loved it) and a super tacky summer festival every year. Of course I have fond memories of these, but right now I can’t imagine living like that again.

Of course one could say I don’t enjoy London to its fullest either, but the difference is that if I decided I wanted to, I could. There’s always somewhere to go, something to see and things to do. What I missed back home were the options. Like, imagine, I had to drive 80 kilometers if I wanted to go to a decent cinema.

#8 What book made the biggest impact on you?

Like recently?
Because if I have to pick the one book that would be the It Book, I don’t think I could.
But I read Beartown in January and it’s still with me. It covers some heavy topics that are really close to my heart and I just can’t stop shouting about this book and recommend it left, right and center. I’d imagine there are other books focusing on the impacts on violence on women and young people, but I have not read them yet, so for now it’s Beartown.

#9 What profession other than your own would you like to attempt?

Attempt is a very accurate way of putting it. Sometimes, even after 8 years I still feel like I’m just attempting to do my job.
I wouldn’t mind becoming a crime fiction writer, or maybe a librarian.
I’d also like teach English to foreigners in a foreign country maybe. Or become a psychotherapistYoga teacher even!
A skipper! I should buy a boat…

*I’ll see myself out now*

#10 Name 3 things you´d do to make someone happy.

Spend time with them, listen to them, do stuff with them they like doing. Because clearly, anyone would be happy to hang out with me. No?

#11 Have you ever had a book discussion that went terribly wrong?

Well, not really. But I can’t say that my book discussions go swimmingly either. It usually starts with me getting into all sorts of details about the book I’m reading and I can just see the other person’s (usually my other half) eyes just glaze over and then they zone out, or even change topic. Of course when I point out that they asked what I’m reading and how it’s going, their answer is “Yes, but I meant the short version.Like that’s a thing! Seriously… non-readers, eh?


I’d love to hear about…

Tan @Booknerd Tan
Diana @A Haven For Book Lovers
Drew @The Tattoed Book Geek
Zooky @Book Bum
Cleopatra @Cleopatra Loves Books
Dora @Swift Coffee
Ova @Excuse My Reading

My questions for you…
#1 What is your favourite breakfast?
#2 What was your dream job when you were a child? Are you in that career now?
#3 How do you drink your coffee?
#4 What’s your current favourite TV show we should all check out?
#5 What is your favourite way to relax?
#6 What gets your day off to a good start?
#7 Do your friends & family follow your blog?
#8 Would you be ok to stay in a cabin in the woods by yourself for a week?
#9 Describe yourself in five words.
#10 Do you travel light, or take half the house with you?
#11 What are your hobbies, other than blogging?

I’m sure most of you guys have received this multiple times, so don’t feel obligated to participate again.

54 Comments

  1. Great post Norrie and thanks for the tag! I want to do this!

    Loved your answers and OMG all the Big Bang Theory GIFs. I take it you are fan of the show, yes? I am seasons behind but I love it! No. 5 had me burst out laughing 😀 I like what you said about Beartown. I loved that book and like you, the themes had such an impact on me.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m watching Big Bang the third time now 😀 Some later seasons are not that funny, but it has its moments ❤

      I look forward to seeing your answers! 🙂

      Like

  2. I do believe in Zodiac signs because it does fit me. Just to name one, I’m a super perfectionist.. which other Zodiac sign has that listed as a personality trait? I love your gifs btw, who’s your favorite character of the show? Sheldon perhaps? I quite like his quirkyness :-). Great answers to some very interesting questions!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ha! I don’t know which sign has which traits actually 😀

      I do like Sheldon, but I think my fave are for fun factor are Raj & Wolowitz. They are super funny together. Personality-wise i’d say Leonard ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I think being a librarian would be so much fun! Or a yoga teacher! I believe in Zodiac symbols to an extent. Mine fits me, and I know others who fit theirs, but then, not everyone does fit, so. Very entertaining answers, Norrie! I loved reading this! 💕

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yoga teaching librarian! That’d be something. 😀

      For me, if i read my zodiac description, it fits to some extent. But so does the description my friend has for her zodiac. 😀 So i gave up on it years ago because of that.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Great post! That sounds like the perfect weekend for me as well, weekends where you just stay in sometimes are so huegly needed. However brunches and catching up with old friends is definitely something I enjoy from time to time 🙂

    Liked by 1 person


    1. I think my ratio of stay-in vs going out weekends are 90% – 10% 😀 It used to be different when i was younger, but i don't really miss it. I love chilling at home.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. A coffee drinking yoga teaching librarian, with a boat in the back yard, who works from home, which is in the countryside ten minutes from the city and decent entertainment! How am I doing so far? ☺️ Great questions and neat answers, Norrie!

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Ha! Ha! You need it written on stickers to hand out to everyone! 😉 But seriously (seriously?) who has a ten-year plan? I think mine went out the window somewhere around the age of 25.

        Liked by 1 person

        1. True… i think i was around 26-27 when i made “serious” plans the last time. Right now it’s pretty much along the lines of “well, i think by the time i turn 40 i should own a house… better chop chop, i have 6 years left”… 😀
          Whereas i used to think that by the time i’m 30 i’ll have a house AND a husband.

          Liked by 1 person

          1. Mine went out the window mostly because what I wanted and how to get there, changed. I wasn’t so set on marriage (I’m gay) and the house thing, well, was never on the cards. I like to travel too much. And then … I ended up in Quebec!

            Liked by 1 person

          2. Quebec… Not a bad place to end up at!

            I like your travelling sentiment, it’s defo something i should keep in mind, because i love travelling as well 🙂

            Liked by 1 person

  6. I have a borrowed copy of Beartown just waiting for me to read it, but I’m waiting for the right mood to pick it up. I thought that was interesting what you said about zodiac signs experiment. I’ve never believed in them, but sometimes I’ll read horoscopes just for fun and think, “yeah, that fits” and then I read all the rest of them and they all fit haha.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. * tee-hee-hee *

      I actually had a lot of fun doing this! I dunno why i was so hesitant until now. I always felt like if i can’t answer some of the questions, then i shoudn’t attempt answering the rest either… * facepalm *

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I would love to hang out with you and chat about everything…not just books. I once recited the entire plot of Jane Eyre…in detail…to a boyfriend. He claimed he was thankful because it saved him from the need of ever reading the book. In hindsight, I think I may have been a wee bit tiresome, lol.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Ha! Lovely answers.
    Pretty much all my book conversations are like that. Usually starts with someone asking what did you think of this book? And four hours later they know! And yes to small towns close to bustling cities truly the best of both worlds!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Thanks So much for tagging me, I’d love to answer your questions!

    Oh BearTown is also with me too, I think I read it at a similar time. I keep recommending it to everyone. (Little Fires Everywhere is also have similar feelings)
    Also thumbs up to most of your answers!
    Last question- that happens to me EVEN IN MY BOOK CLUB- lol! when I start on books, I can’t stop!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, Little Fires also left a big impression on me. ❤

      Hahaha 😀 maybe in the book club it's the opposite problem: they all wanna talk about the book and they think you just don't let them! :p 😀

      Like

  10. Awesome answers Norrie! Totally agree with you on public transportation… The sweat is real!!!! Also love the “listen to them” part about making a friend happy. Couldn’t have said it better. 😉 Some don’t know how important that alone is.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.