We Were Liars by E. Lockhart

Lyrical and dreamy, We Were Liars tells the story of a summer that change the lives of four teenagers forever.

We Were Liars by E. LockhartBH4-WEWERELIARS

Genres: YA, Mystery
Published: 13th May, 2014
Goodreads | Book Depository | Amazon UK
Series: N/A
Rating: 5

A beautiful and distinguished family.
A private island.
A brilliant, damaged girl; a passionate, political boy.
A group of four friends—the Liars—whose friendship turns destructive.
A revolution. An accident. A secret.
Lies upon lies.
True love.
The truth.
Read it.
And if anyone asks you how it ends, just LIE.


“My full name is Cadence Sinclair Eastman.

I used to be blond, but now my hair is black.
I used to be strong, but now I am weak.
I used to be pretty, but now I look sick.
It is true I suffer migraines since my accident.
It is true I do not suffer fools.”

Oh you, guys! My brain is a mush. Like a soggy sponge being squeezed, its contents slowly dripping out of my ears, splattering all over the shiny tiles… ahem… No, I haven’t gone soft in the head. This is merely my take on this book whose protagonist is Cadence, a seventeen year old girl who experiences everything in a very dramatic, and slightly poetic way. I’m with you, Cady! At that age everything was the end of the world for me as well. Reality blends with absurd in most unexpected ways in this young lady’s mind.

“Then he pulled out a handgun and shot me in the chest. I was standing on the lawn and I fell. The bullet hole opened wide and my heart rolled out of my rib cage and down into a flower bed. Blood gushed rhythmically from my open wound,
then from my eyes,
my ears,
my mouth.”

The writing flows like beautiful poetry, and with skillful use of the majestic English language, E. Lockhart transports the reader into the world of folks who spend whole summers on their private islands. I’m for one green with envy. The Sinclairs are your typical stuck up rich people, who can’t even appreciate their good fortune most of us just dreams about. I mean, private island? Not having to work the whole summer? Bitch, please.

Cousins Cady, Johnny and Mirren only meet during the summer breaks. They call themselves The Liars since they were eight years old. Summer eight. When Gat, Johnny’s new stepbrother, joins the liars he upsets the balance of the group right away. Not rich. Not white. Cares too much about things none of the liars do.

During summer fifteen Cady falls for him, and Gat falls for her. Sweet summer romance, ruined by the accident that robs Cady of her memories of the incident, and forces her to spend summer sixteen away from Beechwood Island without her beloved cousins, without the liars.

Fragmented sentences.
Like Cady’s broken, scattered memories.
Summer seventeen.

“I don’t know what is between us. He is such an ass.
“Give me your hand,” Gat says.
I am not sure I want to.
But then of course I do want to.
His skin is warm and sandy. We intertwine our fingers and close our eyes against the sun.
We just lie there. Holding hands. He rubs my palm with his thumb like he did two summers ago beneath the stars.
And I melt.”

A heart warming story of first love, We Were Liars is out there to catch you by surprise and wring your emotions out like water from a soaked beach towel. Or is it? I might have lied.

33 Comments

  1. Lyrical and dreamy sounds like something I definitely want to read more of this summer. Ideally somewhere in a hammock (hinting even here in case my bf magically sees this.. hint hint! 😂😂😂)
    I really love this review Norrie, I will be checking this book out, thanks.
    Have a great longer weekend. ☀️☀️☀️

    Liked by 2 people

  2. If I read your review I really want to read this novel 🙂 but then I already did and experienced it quite differently :-). This novel and me just wasn’t a match, the writing and format of the novel, and I never really felt like I connected or knew Cadence. Sorry! I wish I could have had your experience though, wonderful review!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. I think i was in love with the writing ❤ Cady was a bit of a weird one.

      I tend to like this sort of writing though, but it's a great divider of readers 🙂

      Like

  3. Beautiful review. So glad that you enjoyed this one so much. I had a totally different experience. I liked the writing but hated that I predicted the twist way too early in the story. This ended up being ish-ish for me. Like you though, I am envious about the private island holidays.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Loved your review! I also love this book, and a lot of people did it, not sure what is wrong with them, LOL💜

    Liked by 2 people

  5. Fantastic review! I am so glad you enjoyed this book so much – I loved it as well and the writing was really captivating. and that twiiiiiiiist I didn’t see it coming AT ALL, which made this all the more powerful 😀

    Liked by 2 people

  6. Hello Norrie. Great review! I definitely fell in love with the writing style in this book as well, and that was one of the aspects that drew me in. That plot twist took me completely by surprise (even though I was warned about it beforehand haha 🙂 )

    Liked by 2 people

  7. I absolutely loved this one too! It was gorgeously written and then ending just THREW me so much! It’s the kind of book I wish I could read for the first time again!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’m with ya on that!
      Mons Kallentoft has quite similar style. Even tho he writes crime/thriller so there’s much more brutal details, but he does them in such a poetic way.

      Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.