5 Things That Make Me Pick Up a Book

As someone who acquired approximately 300 unread books over the years, I’m really not all that picky when it comes to snatching up a new one. Yet, there are certain things that will definitely make me look at any reading material twice, or just grab them as soon as laid eyes on them.

#1 Eye Candy

Even though I have most of my books on Kindle, and virtually nobody sees what I’m reading, a fancy looking book cover will definitely catch my eye. Gorgeous colours, vintage patterns, subtle colour palettes, those are just a few things that make me take a second look at any book.

#2 Stephen King & Co.

Let’s face it. If Stephen King writes a book, I’m going to buy it. I don’t even care what it’s about. There are a few more authors whose book I’d buy without a second thought: Mark Edwards, John Scalzi, Rachel Abbott, Liane Moriarty, Mons Kallentoft, Linwood Barclay.

#3 Secrets & Lies

Slap it on the cover, put it in the tagline… I don’t care. I need to read all about it!

#4 Family drama, shitty marriages, possibly more secrets & lies

One of my (perhaps a bit dark-ish?) obsessions is domestic noir, and any stories about horrible marriages, the dark side of love. Or, you know, just simple families who have some crap going on in their lives. The darker and more horrible those secrets are, the better.

bundleofjoy.gif

#5 Friend liked it? Must have it

Since I started blogging, I got to know a lot of folks who look for similar things in books I do. If they like a book, there are very high chances that I’ll feel the same way.

What about you, guys? Is there anything specific you just can’t resist?

Top 10 Tuesday is hosted by That Artsy Reader Girl.

66 Comments

  1. A striking cover will easily sell me on a book. I’m gullible that way. Otherwise practically any Nordic Noir or Japanese crime fiction at the moment. I’m sure it’ll change, but that’s the current obsession. Mons Kallentoft is on my to-read stack as well:)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oooh, it’s so rare i come across someone who not only knows Kallentoft but likes his books too ❤ 🙂 Yay!

      I haven't read Japanese crime fiction yet, but a colleague of mine recommended me a few last week, so i'm defo gonna check them out 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I can highly recommend Keigo Higashino. LOVE his books!!! Different than your usual crime thriller, but really good. Also finished Prefecture D by Hideo Yokoyama earlier this week. Bit slow, but interesting nonetheless.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Great list! I tend not to notice covers as such. I don’t even remember most but Mark Edwards, Secrets & Lies, recommendations…all that tend to grab my attention 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ah, you are lucky! I keep getting distracted by gorgeous books. Sometimes i even know it’s not the sort of book i’d like, but keep going back to it, cuz it’s so pretty, trying to find an excuse why i should get it 😀

      Like

  3. I’m terrible for a good cover but I also find it easier to carry my kindle round than a book, so I tend to find a book I like the look of and download it at a later date. It makes it easier for me to judge a book on the contents as well as you don’t see the pretty eye catching covers on kindle!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. As one of the few idiots left who buys trade paperbacks (and probably keep the publishers in profit) I love me a good cover, and yes, colour is important, as is the typeface and layout. If it doesn’t take my fancy, it’s not coming home with me.

    I usually ignore what’s written on the cover as that’s more than likely a load of hogwash (too long in the publishing game Baby!) So I default to reading a chapter or two in-situ. And then there’s the author: my go-to favs def. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think i bought quite a few books based on eye candy i otherwise wouldn’t have 😀 On one hand it’s good to discover stuff, on the other… well, books are expensive 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Oh yes, when friends and especially book bloggers friends with similar taste as mine recommend a book, I HAVE to read it. It’s so great to be part of the community for these endless recommendations! 🙂
    Lovely list! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you 🙂
      It’s true… i prefer recommendations from bloggers to recommendations i get on amazon. Based on what i bought, but they often get it wrong.

      Like

  6. This is a great list! I agree if Stephen King writes a book… in which I made the comment to my coworker yesterday, he’ll be writing a book on his deathbed the way he continues to turn out books, I’ll be reading whatever he wants to turn out because I’m all for his work! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hmm, maybe a Stephen King with a pretty cover? 😀 The Dark Tower series came out with some amazing designs and some books had a halloween themed cover and they were gorgeous ❤

      Liked by 1 person

  7. #1, Eye candy book covers. I am so in love with the Beach Lawyer cover. I live for covers that look like that.
    #2 Stephen King: Oh yeah. * virtual high five *
    #3 Ooooohooooh. Definitely catchy when you know there are juicy secrets involved.
    I laughed so hard after reading ” shitty marriages”. HAHAHA. I live for that in a book. Even in romances.
    I, obviously can´t resist a great cover. Even if I don´t read the book at least I have something pretty to look at. Catchy taglines are also something I jump at without question. Gotta great tagline and I will drop whatever I´m doing to buy the book. Great post! 🙂 ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Beach Lawyer is a good story too 🙂 And that cover just made such an impact… i kinda saw the whole story in a pinkish light in my head 😀

      Like

    1. Oh, defo.
      Sometimes i’m wondering, perhaps i missed out on good books cuz they didn’t have a nice cover and i just simply didn’t notice them

      Like

  8. Great post!

    I usually end up reading books most of the time that have or are getting an adaptation. I love tv, so I end up reading books most of the time that are going to be getting that tv series adaptation. I am trying to read more books this year though that haven’t gotten an adaptation at the time I’m reading the book.

    I loved how you included Diane from The Good Wife/ The Good Fight in this, LoL. I love her character.

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.